Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Texas

The State of Texas currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

When you buy an auto policy in Texas, your insurance company will send you a proof-of-insurance card. In Texas, you must show proof of insurance when you

  • Are asked for it by a law enforcement officer
  • Have an accident
  • Register your car or renew its registration
  • Obtain or renew your driver’s license
  • Get your car inspected

There are substantial penalties for violating the state’s financial responsibility laws. A first conviction will result in a fine between $175 and $350. Subsequent convictions could result in fines of $350 to $1,000, suspension of your driver’s license, and impoundment of your automobile.

Texas Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Texas. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Texas are as follows:

  • $30,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $60,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Texas does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Texas is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Texas current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Texas SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Texas currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Texas DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Texas, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 72 hours to 180 days imprisonment
  • 180 days to 2 years imprisonment if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • 90 days to 1 year license suspension
  • Up to $2,000 fine
  • Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • $1,000 DUI surcharge per year for 3 years
  • $2,000 DUI surcharge per year for 3 years if BAC is 0.16% and above

Additional Information on Texas Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Texas Department of Insurance at (800) 252-3439 or go to their website at

Read more about Auto Insurance in TX.